Surprise! We’re Dallas Bound!

In 20 days, we will be moving to the amazing city of Dallas. I must say, it will be a big transition. I’m not a city girl by any stretch of the imagination. I rarely visit a city bigger than my hometown of 60,000 people. So, moving to a city with a population of 1.2 million in that city alone will be a MAJOR change. What is the reason for the drastic change you may ask? Well, a change in our long-term plans would be my answer. For the past 5 years, my husband and I have grown to love and appreciate the area of natural health. We have seen how it can work wonders and want to be able to help other people see and experience the same things we have seen and experienced. My husband, Jason, will be attending chiropractic college at Parker University. I will be working through an 8 month massage therapy certification, a nutrition certification, an iridology certification, and a natural health certification. Our long-term plans involve opening an integrative natural health center in our hometown.

My, how time changes everything.

So, in 20 days it will be back to apartment living we go. I am not sure what to think about that part at the moment. I am so used to having my own home. A home in which I get to decide what the rules are about paint colors, wall hangings, and the like. It may be time to put my creative hat on just a little more snug. Luckily, there are tons of ideas on the internet…and a few floating around in my head as well. While I am staying in the home of my in-laws for the next 20 days, I will give you a little preview….

I found this quilt set on Overstock.com for only $80. I have fallen in love with chevron lately. I had been crazy about the colors teal and turquoise for a while. While I absolutely love the quilt set, I don’t want our room to feel immature, so I snatched a clearance 5×8 natural fiber rug ($125) and a set of clearance 96″ window curtains ($19 each) from West Elm.

Image

IMG_0241[1]

Image

IMG_0240[1]I bought the large beanbag from my sister-in-law and ordered a new cover for it from Ebay. The butterfly pillow and dark blue throw pillow on the bed are both from Target. The painting above the beanbag is a painting I purchased from my sister-in-law. 🙂

There will be a large, empty wall above our sectional. I wanted something personal to fill the space (not just some generic painting), so I bought this frame collage kit from Bed, Bath, and Beyond for $40. It comes with 10 frames and a template for hanging the pictures.

Image

I love the layout of the frames, but I decided to go for something a little more personalized. I removed the mat from each of the larger frames and painted them the colors found in our living area (teal, orange, deep red, navy blue, and yellow).

Image

IMG_0197[1]

There are 5 other frames in the kit that did not have mats to paint. I can’t wait to get some black and white pictures in these frames!

I also found this kitchen art at 90% discount at Hobby Lobby. It only cost me a whopping $13.

Image

I figure this painting will look a little plain all by its lonesome on the larger dining wall, so I put together a couple of shadow boxes to go alongside it. Inside the 2 shadow boxes are a total of 5 bamboo cooking utensils…One for each color of our living area.

Image

Image

Whoa Nelly! I am completely exhausted thinking about all of the work that is to come… Finish up that packing… Make a tedious 8 hour trip with a trailer full of our belongings… Lug everything up to a 2nd story apartment… Spend days rummaging through boxes, trying to find the perfect spot for each item… But it will be an adventure. It will be an adventure that we will enjoy. Bring on the hard work! We are ready…

Leave a Reply

