Our Cozy Little Corner…

Wow…just wow…

What a month. We have moved. We close on our previous house next week AND there are a few exciting little secrets that I can’t share just yet. But trust me…they are a big dealio for our little family. I know, I know. I hate being vague just as much as you hate reading this vague paragraph, but if you’ll hang with me for just a couple of weeks, I can fill you in on all the details!

Today I thought I would introduce you to the beginnings of our replenished home furnishing/home decor collection. Before we moved, we sold pretty much everything: beds, table, chairs, dressers, etc. The only large piece we kept was our sectional. It made for a much easier move, but it is time to begin trying to find some deals to refurnish. Last week I introduced you to the girls’ new bedroom.

20120628-160523.jpg

Today, I thought I’d give you a look inside our little corner of our temp home. For those who don’t know, we are currently staying with the in-laws until we get the whole home closing situation settled and in the past. However, we have been picking up a few items to make this feel feel like our own.

20120628-160934.jpg

We have decided to go for a bit more modern look this time around. So we found a good deal on a platform bed and memory foam mattress at overstock.com and gave the “seasoned tree” painting a new home above our bed. One of the hardest things about changing from a semi-shabby look to a more modern feel is the fact that shabby decor is a lot cheaper to DIY. Old things are supposed to look…old. These items are usually a lot cheaper to pick up on Craigslist than pieces with a modern feel. However, if you are creative there are always ways to find thrifty decor to fit your style. I do plan to mix in a few shabby pieces, such as the coffee table at the foot of our bed, among our more modern home furnishings. This coffee table was handcrafted by a local metal-worker. His customer did not pick it up, so we were able to buy it for the cost of the materials.

20120628-162154.jpg

We’ll see how the whole modernized decor plan works out. Will we be able to find pieces on a budget? I hope so. Will it fit our personalities as well? I’m sure it will. Only time will tell so check back to see if our plans turn from whoo-hoo to boo-hoo.

BTW, thank you to everyone that visited SBH in the last several days. I have been absolutely amazed at the turnout. If you guys have any special projects you would like to see on the blog or would like to submit your home for a home-remodeling story, just leave a comment to let me know!

Leave a Reply

