The Good, The Bad, And The Owl-gly

I’m sew so happy to finally get to try my hand at using an actual sewing machine. Considering that I have never really had the opportunity to use one, I knew that I needed the most basic machine they make. So, after examining the scare selection at our local Wal-Mart (at least our store still has a selection…) I decided to get the Singer Simple. It is a really basic machine that seems great for an amateur. There are no fancy knobs or buttons. The stitch selection is limited to a few simple yet useful stitches. It is easy to hook up and use. What more can I ask for?

For my first project, I decided to make 2 little owls for Ava and Kyra’s bedroom. That was a major mistake. I definitely learned that sewing a circle stuffed animal with no pattern was not a prime choice for my first attempt at sewing. However, Ava and Kyra are quite fond of their little primitive looking owls.

The first owl is Ava’s and we named her Owl-ison. The second owl is Kyra’s owl, Owl-ivia. Don’t judge me too much! This was my first attempt at sewing! I hope to get a little bit better at the process in the next few weeks and try my hand at this project again. I have to get better at the whole sewing business soon because I promised Ava and Kyra I would make them a fairy costume by Halloween! I’m sure that would be a piece of cake for some of you expert seamstresses out there, but quite honestly, I find the idea a bit daunting. I’ll just pray I’m a quick learner! I’ll share that experience with you when I feel up to the challenge.

On a positive note, I was able to put some actual stitches into many of my “no-sew” projects that I have done over the past few weeks. My table runner will no longer fall apart and the girls’ chair covers will hold up to the washing much better (I hope). The whole stitching in a straight line thing is a much easier task that all of those owl curves. Nice straight lines and even stitches equal a much happier me! Next I plan to sew a couple of “waterfall” curtains for our bedroom, finish the closet curtains in Ava and Kyra’s room, sew a “rag” blanket for our bed, and maybe sew up a few X-mas presents. Whew! Well, I guess I’ll just have to see how that goes…

Leave a Reply

