It’s Just My Feng Shui…

I really find the topic of feng shui interesting. What is feng shui? Feng shui is a Chinese art that seeks to bring balance to a space by accenting “positive energies.” I don’t really know much about accenting positive energies, but I do know that a well-arranged room can do wonders for a home’s decor. The best part is that you can change your home’s feel without spending a penny.

Here is our den before we pulled a big switcheroo today. It felt really boxy and the positioning of the furniture was just a little off. Since I am not a big fan of the really formal squared seating arrangement, this totally “threw off my feng shui.”

So, we utilized the large size of the room and turned the whole furniture arrangement toward the front corner of the room. Angling the chair at the corner of the run created a less boxy feel. As an added bonus, it is much easier to enjoy the view out of our large den windows.

Ah, that’s much better. Can’t you just feel that new energy running through you? No, just kidding. I’m not THAT into the whole feng shui thing. However, there is something that makes you want to kick up your feet and relax on the newly arranged furniture.

I think the “right” characteristics of the room are totally up to the person who has to live in that room. There have been rooms that I have really admired, but I knew could never pull off that room in my own house because it didn’t compliment my style. So, no matter what I could tell you here about the way your room “should be decorated” or “should be arranged”, it wouldn’t amount to a hill of beans. So, if you like the formal seating arrangement, I highly suggest you go with your instincts. If you are an “angles” person like me, roll with it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

