Folders And Playrooms And Paintings… Oh My!

Here’s a handy-dandy little idea that I absolutely love. For about a year now, I’ve been keeping a folder of home improvement ideas that have caught my eye. I have simply stuck magazine pages, website printouts, paint sample cards, future house plans, and gardening tips in a simple folder for future use. So simple…so helpful…so FUN! I absolutely love going to this folder when I have the urge to make some changes.

Using a simple folder is a great way to start, but if you are like me, you will add and add and add things to your folder until it’s time to upgrade to a 3 ring binder. My folder is gettin’ pretty full so it’s time to find a better way to arrange my ever-growing pile of papers and samples. I’m hitting up the garage sales this weekend so maybe I’ll be able to find a great deal-i-o on something useful.(Check back tomorrow to see if we score big.)

I started remodeling Ava and Kyra’s playroom this week and I turned to my trusty folder for ideas. This idea really stood out from the rest…

I’m almost positive the people at Lowe’s thing we are a  little crazy. We visit the paint counter at least once a week. So, why break the cycle, right? We hit up the paint counter for our favorite Olympic Premium paint in a dark pink color called “cerise”.

Cerise is the darkest pink color at the bottom of this sample

 

The room is now half painted with the cerise paint. The plan is to also paint the ceiling a color that is similar to the mint green color in the inspiration picture and add a few black accessories.  I also wanted to paint a huge picture for an empty wall and here is an idea of what I would like to do. Sorry, but I’m not great using the paint program on the computer so hopefully it will look better when I actually do the real thing.

Other plans for the playroom include building a black toy box/window seat and recovering a large paper lamp shade with bright, fun fabric (My 2-year-old had a grand ol’ time using a pencil to punch holes in the shade). Should be fun! Of course, I’ll try to share every little detail of how it goes! Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Folders And Playrooms And Paintings… Oh My!

  1. I think it will turn out to be a very beautiful room! I love the color choices you have made. You will have so much fun letting your children help you with the room. There really is a lot that they can do, you’ll be amazed! Hope every thing turns out great, I’m sure it will!

    • Debbie, My 4-year-old is bonkers about choosing her own stuff for her rooms. She takes paint samples home from Lowes and pretends to decide what color she is going to do her room. Just like her Mama I guess! I’ll post a picture when the playroom is done!

Leave a Reply

