Can You Find What’s Different?

You know those games you see in the kids magazines that ask you to tell what is different in two otherwise identical photos? Well, these two pictures remind of those childhood days… No, but really! Putting those before and after pictures side-by-side do wonders for helping you appreciate how little details help to define a room.

Our dining table is definitely in need of some of those little details, so I’ve decided it is time to try to begin planning out a killer table setup that is a WOW-factor for the room while keeping some child-friendly practicality at the same time.

Let me just say that I had the most wonderful husband who still decides I need a little just-because bouquet occasionally. Today, he bought a beautiful little bunch of purple toned flowers that go great right smack-dab in the middle of my little dining table (which I still stare at in awe BTW). It really is amazing how such a little detail can make the difference.

This is the table before the beginnings of the centerpiece.

 

It's not much yet, but even the beginnings of a centerpiece makes the table even more interesting.

Here’s the plan for the next couple of weeks… I would like to make a runner that will run across the center of the table (guess that’s why they call them runners, eh?) under the flower vase. I also want to find some really cool funky votive candle holders that match the pattern of the dining chairs and place them in a row down the center of the runner. I would love to have the cool preset table that always looks perfect with the beautiful plates and bowls stacked so artistically, the napkin tucked neatly between them, and the eye-catching goblets glasses placed in just the right spot, but I really think with a 2 and 4 year old that would just be asking for trouble. Guess I had better keep it simple and easy to move… Errr. Maybe I can still splurge and set the perfect table when company comes. As always, we’ll see what happens.

Do you have any suggestions for setting the perfect table or building the perfect centerpiece? I’d love to hear them as I work on ours. Check back for an update on how this turns out!

As an off the topic side note: You may remember the post about the picture frame collage I have been creating behind our table (if you don’t, you can see it in the pics anyway). I have trying to decide where would be the perfect place to find a white “I” to throw into the mix. I know that sounds random, but since our last name starts with “I”, I thought it might add a different kind of personalization. I’m not crazy, right? Any suggestions?

As another side note: Sorry I’ve been MIA for the last couple of weeks but we were visiting fam for Memorial Day and then we all got majorly sick (especially me, of course). It was kinda draining. but now I feel up to par and hope to be checking in regularly. Yay!

 

 

Leave a Reply

