Maybe Now I’ll Actually Want To Do Laundry…Or Not

I hate laundry. Hate it… There is so much of it! How can two kids wear 3 sets of clothes a day? You know what makes it worse? The small dark laundry closet that came with our house. It is literally just a little closet. You walk in the door and there is a washer on your right and a dryer on your left. Above the washer and dryer are two sets of cabinets. That’s it. There’s nothing else.

Well, I’ve been working to try to lighten up this space a bit so that I don’t cringe every time I have to walk in the closet. Here are the pictures from before we did any work on the room:

Here is the progress we have made:

This is the view looking into the laundry closet

New front load washer courtesy of Craigslist

Dryer nook

The horizontal white stripes have done wonders in creating a cleaner look and the illusion of a larger room. It wasn’t a hard project either. All you need is some painter’s tape, a tape measure, a level, a paintbrush, and paint.

Our washer had a good life but it was time for an upgrade. I chose front load because I would like to build in a simple plywood counter over the washer to add some extra room for storage and laundry baskets. That little project is next on my list.

The cabinets are going to see a makeover as well, with a fresh paint job and new hardware.

Although doing laundry is still not at the top of my fun-things-to-do list, I no longer cringe every time I open the laundry closet door. I even get adventurous and leave the door open from time to time (something I never would have done before redoing this room).

So how do you guys make the most of the space in your laundry area? Do you have a closet like me where you have to fight for space or do you have a room that is so big that you have to fight to keep the clutter from accumulating in this space?

Leave a Reply

